top of page

Keep On Keepin On


I want to take a few moments out of the day to send a shout out to all the people dealing with mental illness. It's very easy for us to not it knowledge them or sweep them under the rug because it's not something that you can necessarily see. Yet it's still real. It can be very easy to get caught up in what's wrong and your problems and focus on the crisis that is this world or more so it can be very hard to stop thinking about all these problems, but problems are inevitable and they don't make a person. How you deal with it does.

Anyone can moan and complain, and it doesn't make you weak if you do. It makes you stronger being able to open up and address what's wrong , dealing with the issue. You can hate the situation you're in and be caught up in it but what does that solve? Does it make you feel any better?

I personally found myself "stuck" as I like to call it, or in other words depressed. It sucked, I knew it suxked. Waking up and everything feeling monotonous, the world looking like it's just passing you by. Just thinking about it I shutter. It wasn't a good time. I hated myself for always feeling that way. Until one day I asked myself if I was happy and the answer was no. From that moment on I decided I was going to find what made me happy and do that and that only. Part of what that entailed was dropping every though, stress, worry, and memory that tied me down and held me back. I'd wake up everyday, smile and stretch while thinking to myself: "Today's a good day to be happy, let's go take the world by storm."

I can't say everything changed qyickly. It didn't. It's a mjndeset and a mindset is hard to break, especially once you accept something as permanent. But you mood and mindset is not permanent. You are the keeper of your thoughts. It's hard but with training you can make yourself see and focus on what you want to. Which at times is necessary.

With time I eventually became glad with every sunrise and actually ready to wake up. Of course things were still thrown my way, problems didn't disappear. I just didn't let them ultimately control my mood or mindset. Work and stress didn't go away, I just dealt with it differently. Instead of sighing and looking ahead with dread, I would think about something that made me happy, or I was proud of. Whenever I find myself getting back into feeling stagnant i start reminding myself every morning, "You know what? Today's going to be a good day," and overcome any bad thoughts. Sometimes it's as simple as looking at the sky, or a old momentum to remembered life isn't always bad. Then jumping into the day with that happy thought. Don't focus on the negative. Change it and make it positive. If you can't, address the issue and then leave it there. The only way something can hold you down is if you give it pieces you to hold. 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page